Final Round of Summer Champs Forest Edge

on . Posted in FP4 Club News

There's going to be a close motorsport duel this weekend! Rosberg? Hamilton? No , much more important will be the duel for the 2016 crown of World Formula drivers championship! Two drivers are only separated by a handful of points - Angus Waddell, the 2015 champion and Mark Davies the challenger. Davies has led the standings for most of the season but Waddell has closed the gap as the season has progressed. It's going to be a close thing at one of the best tracks in the south of England. Well worth a watch.

Camberley Round 7

on . Posted in FP4 Club News

Race Report Camberley 27th August 2016


The British summer strikes again! All the weather reports pointed towards a thundery wet day at the Blackbushe track as drivers arrived for Round 5 of their summer championship, but in the end the promised bad weather did not materialise, resulting in a dry day. Margins were very tight with very little to choose between Mark Davies and 2015 champion Angus Waddell at the top and Peter Coakes and Rob Teague vying for third place, so finishing every race high up in the order was going to be crucial. Entry numbers were down on previous rounds, possibly due to holidays. As a result the Prokarts started behind the World formulas in the same race. It was really good to see Vince LePine back on the grid after a long layoff and we hope he will manage to continue until the end of the season.

In Heat 1 Waddell stormed through the field gaining 6 places to take the victory. setting the fastest lap in the process but Davies shadowed him all the way to come home 2nd a mere 2.8 seconds behind. Teague and Coakes battled right up to the flag with Teague just taking third ahead of Coakes.  In the prokarts, Ian Fisher scythed through the WFs to come in 5th  overall ahead of a recovering Carl Kirwin in 7th. In Heat 2, Waddell once again took the victory making up 4 places with a determined Davies coming in very closely behind. This time however, Coakes managed to pull ahead of Teague who spun at the bus stop and only managing a lowly 9th. After a series of clean overtakes Carl Kirwin took the honours for the Prokarts with Fisher coming in 2nd. In Heat 3, Waddell made his pole position count by taking the flag first but Davies mounted a hard charge to catch him  - coming from further down the grid he took a creditable 2nd place whilst Coakes once again occupied the third spot. Teague slipped to 5th in this race despite some very quick laps. There was a titanic battle between Fisher and Kirwin in the Prokarts in this race with the lead swapping several times but in the end it was Kirwin who came in ahead in as close a finish as can be seen.

So the final started in championship order and that was the way it finished – a clean sweep for Waddell with all four victories and the fastest lap although Davies had not made it easy for him. Coakes’s 3rd place pushed Teague, who finished 5th,  further back but all is not over with that particular battle until the final round. Alex Whiteley is another driver threatening to join that fight. It was good to see a new driver, Stephen Ayres, join the grid for the first time this year and despite a few technical issues managed a creditable 7th in his first final. We hope to see him again in the coming rounds. Carl Kirwin took the Prokart honours with Fisher in second and an ever improving Jon Davies in third.

It had been an entertaining day at Camberley, FP4s last visit to Blackbushe for 2016. Our thanks go to Camberley Kart Club for their welcome to us and professional approach towards the race days. We hope to join them again in 2017.

The final championship round will be at Forest Edge on the 2nd October, although there will be one further non-championship race at Thruxton in November.. In the WF standings, there is everything to play for at this final round as currently there is only 1 point in it. Waddell has eaten into Davies’ lead with a series of good results and the Camberley round has brought him very close to the leader. In the Heavies it looks like 2015 champion Keith Robertson has it again whilst Shayne Cuthbert has walked away with the Prokart championship. Entries for the October round are now open.

Camberley Round 5

on . Posted in FP4 Club News


Race Report Camberley 23rd July 2016




Scorchio! That was the one word to sum up the weather as the drivers from FP4 arrived at Camberley for Round 5 of the summer championship. The sun beat down on the track all day meaning there were many challenges in set up as the track temperature rose. At the top of the championship in World Formula the gaps between the leaders were very small further adding to the determination of drivers to get things just right.


At the beginning of the day in World Formula Mark Davies had a small points advantage over Angus Waddell – with lap times so short at the Blackbushe track gaps were going to be small and with overtaking quite a challenge we were due for some very exciting racing. In Heat 1 Davies worked his way through to the win from fifth place on the grid but Waddell showed his clear determination by coming in second, despite starting from 12th. Rob Teague and Peter Coakes, who were separated by only one point in the standings came in a close third and fourth. In heat two it was Coakes who battled through to take the win with the two championship contenders suffering DNFs through mechanical woes, Davies with a broken throttle cable and Waddell with steering column issues. Another storming drive from Heavyweight Keith Robertson brought him in to second from 6th on the grid and a welcome return to the three top spots for Dave Jarvis, who returned to racing after a long lay-off. In Heat three Davies took the top honours by some margin, with Alex Whiteley coming in second and Teague third. So the final was shaping up nicely with some barn storming performances right from the start. After his DNF in Heat two, Waddell had started from 8th place on the grid and he made his determination to hit the front very clear by passing many drivers in the first couple of laps; Davies however had started from 4th and made a lightning start and had the lead by the end of the first lap. Behind these two, Coakes and Teague battled it out for the bottom step of the podium. Once he had got past these two, Waddell set out reducing the gap to Davies and by the end had almost got to within striking distance, but not quite. So Mark Davies took the win with Waddell in second and Coakes just pipping Teague to the third place.


In Prokart a smaller grid meant the battling was confined to battling duels. Shayne Cuthbert had a relatively easy cruise to the win in all four races but particularly at the start Ian Fisher ensured that it was not all clear sailing for him. Behind there were some exciting battles between Jon Davies and Kev Mathers  with the order changing over every lap. In Heats 1&2  it was Mathers in third, in Heat 3 and the final Davies just pipped him at the post – bearing in mind Davies is classed as a Heavyweight, these determined and consistent drives earned him the accolade of Driver of the Day – the second time this year he has won. We were very pleased to see Trevor Bull back on the grid and hope to see him again. 


So it had been a long and hot day at Camberley – the meeting was organised in the usual friendly and efficient way and all the drivers are looking forward to returning to Camberley for the next meeting on the 27th August. Current championship points and positions can be found on the FP4 website and it promises to be very close with two rounds left. No-one can afford any slip ups! Entries for Camberley in August are now open.




Online bookmaker the UK William Hill
Сачак/Ламперия Прочети тук